Week 2&3: Marathon Training

It took me a while to write my blog post these two training weeks and that’s for the sole reason that they, for the most part, sucked. I suck. I admit it. And blogging about it seemed to be twisting the knife too much so I tried to avoid it. However, I promised to log my training and that includes the crappy weeks. So here we go. Enter crappy weeks.

Week 2: July 11th-17th 

Monday: 3.3 miles, speed work 

Monday should have been a rest or cross training day, but I mentioned this week would get a little wonky from my work schedule. This speed work is a 33-minute treadmill interval workout. I hate it. It is challenging though so that’s why I do it. I’m not quite able to run on the final 6.0 incline at 9.0 speed, but I’m getting there. 

Tuesday: Rest 

There was no way I was going to fit a run in today. I had to get up at 4:45 for my commute to work (from Philly to NYC) then didn’t get home until 11 p.m. All the walking in NYC probably didn’t hurt though! 

Wednesday, Thursday, Friday: Rest? 

These days were a rest from my runs, but in all other definitions I was definitely running my body down on minimal sleep and lots of long commutes. 

Saturday & Sunday: Rest 

This was for real rest. I had the intention to run, but never made it out the door. It is what it is. I’ll just chalk this week up to loss. 

Week 3: July 18th-24th 

This week I have no better excuse except I was lazy. My week got off to rough start and I never fully recovered. Also, my gym closed for two weeks starting the 18th — and every time I say that I feel like a meathead. Regardless, the 90 degree heat was killing motivation to get outside for runs. I was longing for my spin classes, strength training and even, I dare say, the treadmill in cool air conditioning. I know, I never thought I’d say that. 
Monday: Rest 

I was feeling extremely under the weather and knew a run was not in the cards. 

Tuesday-Saturday: I swear I tried. 

The intent was there everyday to run or cross train, but each day I found an excuse to push it off. 

Sunday: 6 miles (fine, 5.65 to be exact) 

YES. FINALLY. I finally pushed my ass out the door and went on a long run. And do you know what? It. Was. HOT. I got out early, but clearly not early enough because by mile 4 I had to take consistent walk breaks from the heat. 

There you have it. The “ugly” side of my training. Luckily, this week I’m back with re-newed motivation and plans. As we’re getting deeper into my training schedule I know I can’t keep skipping runs or I won’t make it to the 26.2 finish line. 

What do you do when you have an ‘off’ week? How do you channel your motivation when it gets tough? Does life (i.e. work, school, kids, etc.) ever make it seem impossible to get your training in? 

2 thoughts on “Week 2&3: Marathon Training

Leave a Reply

