Marathon Monday: I Signed Up For My First Marathon

Hey, hi, what’s up, Happy Marathon Monday!

It’s the first of many Marathon Mondays to come because I did something really big yesterday. I signed up for my first ever marathon. Insert ginormous gulp. 

de48b4e4cffb3791fb135653a08b839e.jpg
I honestly still can’t read the word, “marathon” without wincing a little. That’s a long distance, guys, and not something to wake up one morning and decide to do.

I love running, but I’m definately not immune to the pain, work and mental toughness that accompanies the hobby. If you ask me, some runners make it look stupidly easy. It could be that they subscribe to the, “fake it, ’til you make it” mantra or that I’m closer to the baby variety of runners.

Regardless, in 200-something days, I’ll be lining up to accomplish a goal that I frankly can’t get out of at this point. I’ve told enough relatives, friends and even had the actual marathon tweet me on Twitter that I can’t back out. I’m sucked into this twenty-six mile commitment.

The remainder of the year will be filled with lots of miles, hopefully very little blood and many, many blisters (which reminds me I desperately need new running shoes). I’m hesitantly excited for all those moments because runners understand few things better than this is a journey and the beauty is in the journey.
Thus, on this forsaken journey, I’ll be starting Marathon Monday’s to blog about my previous week’s progress, failures and findings (because if you know me, you know I’ll do A LOT of research and blog reading about marathons to prep).
I welcome advice, recommended podcasts or training tips (I am a first-timer at this 26-mile thing after all).
7 thoughts on “Marathon Monday: I Signed Up For My First Marathon

  1. Signed up for my first marathon this year as well. I start training in June. What race are you doing? I’m super nervous as well. It’s such a big leap from 13.1 miles, and I’ve never ran more than 14 miles at once. Best of luck!

    1. Ah congrats for signing up for your first too! I signed up for the Philadelphia Marathon in November so I start training in June too! I needed a race w/out an entry time lol I’m nervous but excited, not sure what to expect!

      1. I’ve heard good things about that one. I’m doing the Baltimore Marathon in October. I think you just gotta trust your training when race day rolls around and know that you’re prepared! I’m doing Hal Hidgon’s novice 2 marathon training program. Used one of his intermediate plans for my last half and set a PR, so hopefully this will work out just as well!

      2. Oh running in October will be perfect! I’m a little nervous it’ll get cooler by the time my race rolls around, but that’s what layers are for.
        I’ll have to check out Hal’s program! I’m still searching around for a good training schedule.

  2. Best of luck! This is exciting! I should probably try running more than a 5K before I consider a marathon. My friend Tina Muir is an elite runner, and a running coach. So, she told me to let her know when I’m ready to run a marathon, and she will help me out. She might be a good resource for you.

    1. Haha, yeah maybe work your way up to a marathon! I’m going to check-out the Hal hidgon training plans. I saw they even have an app (I’m a total tech-Y). If Tina has any tips I’d be happy to hear them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

