What’s Your 2016 Race Schedule? 

  
This week on Kari Gormley’s The Running Lifestyle podcast, she laid out some must run races for 2016.

Before you listen to the episode, beware that you’ll walk away with like 10 new bucket list races. Ask my boyfriend, I was suddenly asking him if he’d hate running a half marathon in Surf City, Cali on Super Bowl Sunday. I bet you all know his answer.

In the spirit of planning out my race schedule (who are we kidding I just love organizing and planning), I’ve brought out my 2016 race schedule to share.

Before we go any further, keep in mind that this is a work in progress. I reserve the right to add (or remove) any races from this list. Think of these as being penciled in for the year. Okay, now let’s see what I’m planning!

Current 2016 Race Schedule


Walt Disney World Half Marathon, 
January 8, 2016 (13.1 miles) 

Been there, ran that. I actually ran this race about two weeks ago. Watch out for my race recap coming up soon!


Philadelphia Love Run Half Marathon, 
April 11, 2016 (13.1 miles) 

Of course I needed to run another 13 miles before I turned 24 (my birthday is the following weekend!). I’m excited to train for this race since it will demand running in two conditions I hate: cold weather or the treadmill. I’m also training to reach a new PR for this half!

Broad Street Run *entering the race lottery , May 1, 2016  (10 miles)

The Broad Street Run is a 10 mile race in Philly that requires you to enter via the lottery system. My boyfriend’s brother-in-law got in on a whim last year and we went to watch the 10 miles race up Broad Street. While I love watching races, I love running them even more, so this year I’m entering the lottery with my fingers crossed I get a spot!


Spring Lake 5 , 
May 28, 2016 (5  miles)

This is a family fun one! You would think this 5 mile race was the NYC marathon based on how difficult it is to get registered. Fingers crossed we get into it this year (my dad is pretty determined even bribe donating to the church).
I know what you’re thinking, I don’t have any big race for the fall and the fall is a HUGE race season. Well, fear not, I have something big brewing for the fall…


Philadelphia Marathon, 
November 19, 2016 (26.2 miles)

Yikes, even typing that number scares the crap out of me. 26 miles, really? Is that necessary?

Okay, this is big. I’M PLANNING TO RUN A MARATHON. I’m iffy about telling people about this, but if it’s out there floating around on the internet, I suppose can’t back out. I will, of course, be blogging along the way and please, please, please don’t hesitate to offer me tips for my training!
Please tell me! What are your races for scheduled for this year? Any races that I absolutely HAVE to add to my schedule?

Until next time, gotta run! 


2 thoughts on “What’s Your 2016 Race Schedule? 

  1. Hey you, Any chance I can convince you come run the DE Marathon Festival? It’s the weekend after Broad Street. By the way, I am going to enter the Broad Street lottery. Would be a fun race to run!

    Talk soon, Kari

    On Thu, Jan 21, 2016 at 9:10 AM, WordPress.com wrote:

    > jackiethom posted: “This week on Kari Gormley’s The Running Lifestyle > podcast, she laid out some must run races for 2016. Before you listen to > the episode, beware that you’ll walk away with like 10 new bucket list > races. Ask my boyfriend, I was suddenly asking him if ” >

    1. I’m not sure, my mother might have my head if I skip out on Mother’s Day festivities. I’ll let you know if anything changes! And oh yay! I hope we all get in. Though the chances are slim haha

Leave a comment